Vedic Yoga in Europe
Teachings from Dr. David Frawley & Yogini Shambhavi


Get the latest news from Dr. David Frawley on Twitter:

Dr. David Frawley on Twitter


inspirations for a new yogic study
inspirations for a new yogic study
VEDIC YOGA inspirations for a new yogic study
VEDIC YOGAinspirations for a new yogic study

Vedic Yoga

In the vedic context, the primary term for yoga practice is Abhyasa, the dwelling over something, which relates to Viveka, discriminating insight, and Vairagya, nonattachment.



Viveka is the ability to discern the true from the false. It is the ability from the higher mind to discern the real from the unreal, also to discern the outer from the inner. As our mind, senses and prana draw us into the external world, this is probably not as easy as it seems.


Vairagya is the ability to refrain from involving ourselves in external affairs. Step by step, day by day and again and again we can avoid identifications, opinions, likes, dislikes and compulsions. This is the main yoga practice: to consistently direct our awareness within. 

The five Yamas Ahimsa, Satya, Asteya, Brahmacharya and Aparigraha are primary yogic values for the self-regulation. They aim at developping a higher aspiration.


Ahimsa is a term suggesting a lifestyle that causes minimal damage to the world around us by reducing the amount of harm that occurs. The aim to wish everybody well and respect and honor Mother Earth is part of Yama - the primary yogic values.


Satya, the second Yama after Ahimsa, liteally means truthfulness. The first step would perhaps be to be truthful with ourselves, to then speak the truths and therefore be truthful with others.


Asteya means non-stealing at a physical and psychological level. If we examine this a little closer in our daily lives we might come to the experience that both Ahimsa and Satya are hidden in Asteya. We should not take more than we really need.


Brahmacharya is conscious use of energy. It refers also to the proper usage of our sexual energy but that is just a small part of the meaning. Much more important is the faithfulness  inall we do.


Aparigraha could be understood as not accumulating possessions. On the outer level this of course means accumulating things, but perhaps more important is the inner level: Not  to accumulate "the likes and dislikes", "rights and wrongs" and further belief systems.

The five Niyamas Tapas, Svadhyaya, Ishvara Pranidhana, Saucha and Santosha are ways of holding, conserving and internalizing our energies. 

Tapas is the natural consequence that follows an inner seeking. It is a strength and discipline that is building up inside of us when we know where we want to be. It has nothing to do with military discipline. It is an inspiration through and towards the divine.

Svadhyaya is about understanding one´s psychophysical nature, which is always unique and hence one has to find out in one´s own way according to one´s own nature. Our daily life as a laboratory is perhaps the best place to find out about our psychophysical nature.

Ishvara Pranidhana

Perhaps it is best not to write so much about this Njyama as this refers to consecrating our energy to the cosmic power which itself means that it is beyond words.

Saucha means cleanliness of body and mind. Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana and Dhyana lead to purity in body, mind and ultimately purity in the heart.

Santosha means inner contentment or perhaps the opposite of effort-based austerity. It refers to inner peace and happiness. Inner peace and inner happiness has rather nothing to do with what we find outwardly.  

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© Vedic Yoga Europe, Devamaya Saraswati Yogini, All Rights reserved